Ways of Knowing

 5 Stages of Knowledge / Wisdom in Arabic mapped out by my journey with the Soundboard: 

Introduction: That was me in the first three weeks. I was just struggling to understand the basics…to make it all connect in my head. The jargon was difficult and there was so much to remember! How are gains different than what we do on the sliders? Why do you turn it up in the subs instead of just turning it up normally? Where does this cord go? Wait…what are amps again? Which drums are the Toms? What do you mean, distortion?

Finding Out More: A lot of those questions were answered when we switched to the analog board (after I had time to learn it, of course). The layout was expanded and, on the day of the Youth Night, I spent the entire day working with the board. I could now use it, but effects were beyond me. I could now effectively do take down, set up, and soundcheck. But Equalizing? Nope. Beyond me. And I was still just getting a feel for the way things sound together…what to make louder, what to make quieter…etc.

Reaching Knowledge (A): Where I am now! I understand effects and, intellectually, understand Equalizing….but I wouldn’t feel confident doing it because I don’t have “the feel” for what each person/instrument needs, Eq wise. I can do basic troubleshooting, but beyond that I am next to useless.  I understand back channels, compressors, etc…but I am just starting to realize the existence of the really complicated stuff…nevermind learning to use those things. I can do the recordings…but I could never program a soundboard. I can set up and take down, but I could never do the original wiring etc.  Plus, I’ve only worked at our (admittedly large) church. I also still have a lot to learn about the way things sound. Example: just today, Reyn taught me that Acoustic guitars have about the same frequency as the vocalists, so if you want the voices to pop you can turn down the acoustics.

Reaching Knowledge (B): Ethan. He’s read the manual and has been doing this longer. There’s Tony, too, who has been doing this for the same amount of time I have but was able to attend 5 services a week for 4 weeks.

Absorption: Tyler (he who is teaching me) and Tait! They can keep up with all the changes Reyn makes.

Wisdom:  Reyn. Reyn is the head of Sound Ministry at our church. He ordered the new board and, with Tyler and Tait programmed it. He has his own sound and lighting business.  He is the one who makes the decisions. The rest of us follow orders. He is amazingly skilled.

Make your own list of  experiential knowledge:

  • Argue with my father
  • Pray for people
  • Start a conversation
  • Girl Scout Camp!
  • Leadership~

procedural knowledge (skills; “knowing how”)

  • Project my voice
  • Soundboardery
  • To perform CPR
  • Operating a car (not actually driving…that involves roads and other people)
  • Tie a tie.

knowledge claim (“knowing that”- tied to language)

  • Knowledge is not wisdom
  • Brief is not succinct
  • Atramentous is not crepuscular even though they are both synonyms for dark.
  • 2 + 2 = 4
  • Toilet paper has no calories.

What type is the easiest to learn? What type tends to stick the longest?
For me, the “know that” is the easiest to learn. It sticks into my head easily and stays there. Experiential knowledge, however, lasts the longest for me. I’m never going to forget have to start a conversation…and I certainly will forget Soundboardery is I don’t use it.

I think that, in the end, sense perception, language, emotion, and reasoning are extremely relevant to all the categories of knowledge. For example, for me to internalize how to perform CPR, I have to see it done and hear instructions on it. When people tell me what to do, it needs to make sense. I need to know why I’m doing chest compression in the part of the chest I’m doing them.  And if I’m in a situation that requires me to perform CPR, I need to have my emotions in check and be constantly watching the person who needs me.

_____Curate something on memory

Pg. 108-9: Justification Types

Revelation affects people no matter their profession. For example, if a doctor is Christian and working with a Christian patient (ex: Edna) then the doctor might be encourage the patient to recognize hope even when science can’t help them.

Pg. 110-111: Intensity of Belief

The relationship between belief, truth, knowledge, and justification.

Pg. 114: Do I Believe?

_____After reading about the 3 “s’s”: SOURCE, STATEMENTS, and SELF, choose something you’ve learned recently and evaluate it based on these, using specific examples:

Claim: Crohns is an inflammation of the bowels. It can affect the entire GI track. A low fiber diet is sometimes necessary if there is diarrhea. There is no set diet; Crohns patients must be taken on a case by case basis depending on symptoms and if the disease is in remission. An illeal resection is sometimes necessary but only in extreme cases.  Crohns sucks.  These are my hardest patients–but also among the most rewarding.

Source: Mother, MPH, RD, CDE

Motive for deception: No.

Reputation of accuracy: Yes.

Altered Mind: No.

Expert: Yes.

Counterclaims: “Do you acknowledge counterclaims?” “There aren’t away, sure there is always new information, but the basics of nutrtion don’t change.” -Mother

Acknowledges Limitations: Yes.

The context to the delivery of the claim does not affect the meaning. Mother and I were driving home from school, and I told her to impart knowledge upon me. She asked me what I wanted to know, and I told her to tell me about Crohns disease and Colitis.

Values/background/goals openly stated: No.

Accompaniments: No.

Are the claims supported by evidence: When, after we got home, I pressed Mother, she brought out What to Eat with IBD. She also has had Crohns patients.

I am inclined to trust this source.

I’m not particularly cynical when Mother is teaching me nutrition stuff. I ask her a lot of questions, and if she doesn’t know the answer she looks it up. She can usually support her claims very well. Plus, I know that she is recognized in her field (she’s won this award and that award, she was the president of the HDA, she teaches classes, she reads journals and applies the knowledge.)

My past experience with Crohns comes from reading a book about the digestive system, talking to Mother, and talking to my gastroenterologist.

Sure, it is possible. I do that often with philosophical statements. But I don’t think that this requires me to do that. This is not the most controversial of statements.

FUN FACT: The most common response a sound technician will give while at work is “what?” How do I know? Experience.

By spockinthehood

Leave a Reply

